top of page
  • Writer's picturePat Szpekowski, APR

Congrats YWCA Elgin Leader Luncheon Nominees

2 - The YWCA Elgin has announced its nominees for the 36th Annual Leader Luncheon Awards to be held at The Seville in Streamwood on Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 11:00 am. The Leader Luncheon is attended by hundreds of community leaders, business and community representatives and volunteers. This is one of my most favorite events of the year! It is full of high positive energy and networking.

Congratulations to these very worthy candidates:

Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts: Jane Erlandson, Madeline Franklin and Ursula Borodzinska.

Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business & Professions: Aimee Novelli, Mary Martini and Mary Pierce.

Marguerite Henry Award for Communications & Technology: Margarita Mendoza and Natalie Kiburg.

Harriet Gifford & Hattie Griffin Award for Education: Abigail Bailey, PhD., Andrea Gaitan-Bustos and Dr. Ushma Shah.

Myrtle Spiegler Gerberding Award for Public Service: Sgt. Katy Potts and Kim Wascher.

Betty Brown Award for Racial Justice: Paola Velasquez.

Marie Grolich Award for Social Services: Lea Conrad and Mary Jo Imperato.

Marjorie Leonard Award for Volunteer & Community Service: Carri Laird, Patty Aroyo, Nancy Gerner and Wendy Covich.

In addition to acknowledging the Leader Luncheon recipients business leader Jane Blain Gilbertson, president, CEO, and sole owner of 41 Blain’s Farm & Fleet stores, will be the event's keynote speaker.

She leads stores located throughout Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, and Michigan and Blain Supply, Inc., headquartered in Janesville, Wisconsin. The family owned companies were founded in 1955 and currently employ 4,400 associates.

It was my pleasure to interview Ms. Blain Gilbertson at the Elgin Area Chamber CEO Unplugged several years ago, when she attended our event on the day she opened her new Elgin store!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page